Classic Movie Junkie … Valentine’s Week Romance & Bromance

Classic Movies

Classic Movie Junkie

Butch:  All right. I’ll jump first.
Sundance:  No.
Butch:  Then you jump first
Sundance:  No, I said.
Butch:  What’s the matter with you?
Sundance:  I can’t swim.
Butch:  Are you crazy? The fall will probably kill you.

 From Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, 20th Century Fox, 1969

Valentine’s Week Romance & Bromance…

Happy Valentine’s week!Valentine's Day

When we think about Valentine’s Day, we think of romance, which is lovely—I write about it, don’t I?–but there are all sorts of relationships to celebrate this week. Friendship is one of them.

I don’t know what shape I’d be in now if I hadn’t had female friends over the years to celebrate with me in the wonderful times and help prop me up in the not-so-wonderful times. One of my friendships is over thirty-five years now and counting.  (Yeah, uh, we met soon after birth … something like that.) Another friend and I have been getting together for dinner once a week for over fifteen years. We never run out of things to talk about.

More recently, I’ve reconnected with some old writing friends as well as made new ones—these are people who seem to understand this crazy writing compulsion of mine.  How awesome is that?

Who are the friends you’d like to thank this week for being in your life?

♥♥♥

I guess what got me to waxing sentimental over friendship is my search through the classic movie schedule for Valentine’s week romances.  Oddly enough, I found no more than the usual number, and only one of them was a stand-out. There seemed to be more five-star bromances on tap.

It’s all good, though. I’ve got as much of a soft spot for buddy flicks as I do romances, especially when one of this week’s picks happens to star Robert Redford.

Thursday, February 13

 5:00 pm  The Shawshank Redemption (1994 ) Drama. AMC. A quiet man’s spirit  remains unbroken during 19 years in prison for a murder he didn’t commit.

Why?  I love this movie. Tim Robbins’ understated performance as the mild-mannered accountant Andy Dufresne is flawless and Morgan Freeman is perfectly cast as his aging prison pal, Ellis Boyd “Red” Redding. This film offers one of the most satisfying, fist-pump-worthy endings ever.

Classic Movies

Tracy and Hepburn (1942)

2:45 am  Woman of the Year (1942)  Romantic Comedy. TCM. A high-powered political columnist and a down-to-earth sportswriter trade public snipes in print only to find themselves falling in love after work. Spencer Tracy, Katharine Hepburn.

Why?   Witness the birth of pure box office gold. This is the first of nine films Spencer and Hepburn made together. It also marked the beginning of an off-screen romance that lasted  25 years.  My only quibble in an otherwise awesomely fun romance is a few lines that make my feminist side wince, but hey, this was 1942.  Hepburn shines.

Saturday, February 15

256px-Paul_Newman_-Hustler - cropped

Paul Newman

 4:00 pm  Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid (1969)  Western/Action. TCM.   Two notorious train robbers flee to Bolivia to escape the super posse formed by a vengeful railroad tycoon to track them down.  Paul Newman, Robert Redford, Katharine Ross.

Why?  Newman and Redford. (I could stop there, but you know I won’t.) This is one of my top five favorite westerns. More than just devastating good looks make us fall for these two squabbling bad boys. Charisma, humor, loyalty and a final scene that lingers long after the credits roll.

Trivia Corner

Rpbert Redford

Robert Redford in Barefoot in the Park

 According to the AMC blog, studio execs didn’t approve of casting Redford as the Sundance Kid because he was too clean-cut.  If you think about how he appeared in his Barefoot in the Park days, maybe they had a point.  →

In the end, it’s amazing what a scruffy haircut and a mustache did to mess that suit-and-tie guy up a little, huh? It sure worked for me. 😉

Find nine more things you didn’t know about Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid at the AMC blog HERE.

 Have a great week!

Times listed are EST. Check here for your U.S. time zone Turner Classic Movie monthly schedule. Or here for AMC.)

♥♥♥

Photo credits:

By Scott Catron (Sunset on Hollywood uploaded by zaui) [CC-BY-SA-2.0(http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons
Valentine’s Card circa 1910 – [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
Newman / The Hustler – By 20th Century Fox studio (eBay) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons .  (1961)
Tracy and Hepburn – By Metro Goldwyn Mayer Uploaded by AKeen at en.wikipedia [Public domain], via Wikimedia
Redford -By Trailer screenshot (Trailer Screenshot) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons