November News … Guess That Title and Classic Movie Junkie

What’s new from November?

Release Date!
I’m excited to announce that my 1920s romantic mystery is slated to be released by Carina Press in early April 2014. More in the weeks to come!

What’s in a Name?
When I submitted this book, it had a working title. (And there was a method to that title’s madness… sort of). But I knew a change might be requested. It was. I was asked to send other ideas. I did. And…

They went with the original title. 🙂  So… is there something to be learned from this story?

Aside from the possibility that I’m a sucky book title brainstormer, no. But, as a consolation, I give you…

Guess that title

GUESS THAT TITLE!

New York City, 1924.
A jaded homicide detective is torn between a seductive old flame and a bright new attraction when he joins with an ambitious girl reporter to solve the Central Park murder of a notorious bootlegger in 1920s Manhattan.

Sound like an old movie you’d like to watch with a bowl of buttered popcorn nearby? (I hope so.)  And now for our selections …

Times Square 1920s

Times Square 1921

  1. The Rumrunner
  2. It Had to Be You
  3. His Girl, Trixie
  4. Goodbye, Johnny Blue Eyes

Which do you think it will be? I’ll post the title this Tuesday, so stay tuned.

New Sunday Feature – Classic Movie Junkie

 I’m a classic movie junkie. There. I said it.

 I love everything from westerns to comedies to romances to drama to action adventure to sci-fi. The older the better.  (Helps sort the wheat from the chaff.)

With winter right around the corner, it’s time to pour a cup of tea, curl up on the sofa and watch some of the best films ever made. So, I’m starting something new, a Classic Movie Watch List.  Care to join me?

Here’s my list for this week.  (It’s a holiday week, so it’s long.) What’s on yours?  (Times listed are EST. Check here for your U.S. time zone Turner Classic Movie monthly schedule.)

 Tuesday  Nov 26

9:00 pm Bullitt (1968)  Crime/Detective. When a witness he was to protect is murdered, a lone wolf cop pursues the case on his own. Steve McQueen, Robert Vaughn, Jacqueline Bisset.

Why?  Buckle up for one of the best car chase scenes on film. Shot on location in San Francisco. Steve McQueen—playing “the coolest cop ever,”—did much of his own stunt driving.

Wednesday Nov. 27

4:15 pm   Bonnie and Clyde (1967)  Crime.  A 1930s bank-robbing couple’s crime spree cuts a violent swath through the American South. Warren Beatty, Faye Dunaway, Michael J. Pollard.

Why?  Nominated for 10 Academy Awards. It broke taboos for sex and violence and shot Dunaway to stardom (pun intended).  (And yes, still rates a caution for the violence.)

8:00 pm  Field of Dreams (1989)  Drama/Fantasy. An Iowa farmer risks financial ruin to follow the instructions of a mysterious voice to build a baseball diamond in his corn field.  Kevin Costner, Amy Madigan.

Why?  A great feel-good movie. A perfect pre-Thanksgiving treat.

 Thursday, Nov. 28
Thanksgiving Treats for the Kids (and Kids at Heart)

2:00 pm  National Velvet (1944)  Drama. Elizabeth Taylor, Mickey Rooney.

4:15 pm  The Phantom Tollbooth (1969) Live action/animated. Mel Blanc.

6:00 pm  The Muppets Take Manhattan (1984) Live action musical.

Friday, Nov. 29

11:00 am  Hang ‘Em High (1968) WesternAn innocent man turned U.S. Marshal hunts down the gang who tried to lynch him. Clint Eastwood, Inger Stevens Ed Begley.

Why?  Not my favorite Eastwood western, but still darn good. Filmed after the groundbreaking Dollars Trilogy that catapulted Eastwood to stardom.

2:30 am  Topper (1937) Comedy. A fun-loving couple return as ghosts to help a stodgy banker learn to live it up. Cary Grant, Constance Bennett.

Why? Adorable screwball comedy from the 30s. So popular it inspired two sequels and a 50s TV series.

Saturday, Nov. 30

8:00 pm  The Searchers (1956) Western. A bitter Civil War veteran hunts down the Comanches that killed his family and abducted his niece. John Wayne, Jeffrey Hunter, Vera Miles, Natalie Wood.

Why?  Perhaps the Duke’s most powerful performance. This John Ford-directed western is widely considered a masterpiece.

Till next week… happy viewing!

*

Photo credit:  1921 Times Square by Underhill, Irving (NYPL.org) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

2 thoughts on “November News … Guess That Title and Classic Movie Junkie

  1. Woo Hooooo! Release date!! I can’t wait!

    And if I had cable I would definitely watch Bullitt, for all the reasons stated plus an extra mention of Steve McQueen because. . .Damn, he deserves it! I’d also catch Hang ‘Em High because my knowledge of that movie was one of the reasons my husband fell in love with me. (I walked into his dorm room, glanced at the tv screen and said, “Huh, Hang ‘Em High” Every male’s jaw in the room dropped and I got two marriage proposals on the spot.)

    And I’d have to watch the Muppets because I’m a HUGE fan of theirs.

    Can’t wait for the title reveal! Off to tweet about all this!! Ta Ta!

    Like

    • Lol! Love that, Ava. I had an experience similar to yours in college except the Eastwood movie in question was The Outlaw Josey Wales and I didn’t get any marriage proposals out of it. I made a very good guy pal, though. 🙂 Thank you for the Tweet!

      Like

Comments are closed.