What a Difference a Year Can Make

A year ago, I had no inkling that I would be updating my out-of-print books to make them available to new readers as ebooks. Before then, I never gave a thought to getting the rights back. Those stories were history, gone, vanished, poof! Part of another lifetime when I was still young enough to have cellulite only on my thighs.

Back then, a mid-list author might have spent the better part of a year writing a book, polishing it, selling it, and editing it. Once it hit the paperback market, though, it spent a fleeting six to eight weeks on retail shelves before being yanked to make room for the next batch of releases.

Not very long to find an audience.

Fast forward to Fall 2011, and it’s a whole New World.

After several years spent doing silly things like earning a living, paying a mortgage, and raising kids, I returned to fiction writing (for fun, profit and self-torture). I attended a writers’ conference where I met up with a good friend who’s a very successful author. Not only was she publishing in the traditional market, she’d gotten the rights back to her out-of-print books, updated them, and published the new editions as ebooks.

What a difference a year can make.

In June 2012, I put out my first backlist title on Amazon, A Touch of Camelot.  In July, I published its spin-off, Search for Camelot. August brought Always, and September, Broken Vows.

My next adventure? I hope to make my titles available through more online booksellers.

In the meantime, think about what a difference a year can make.

What great things are you up to today that you never would have dreamed you’d be up to a year ago? Better yet, what will you be up to a year from now?

2 thoughts on “What a Difference a Year Can Make

  1. And I’m so glad that you did! They’re wonderful stories that deserve to see the light of day once again. You took such initiative and worked hard to get them out there. You should be very proud!

    Like

    • Thanks, Ava! It’s been fun, well worth the effort, and wouldn’t have been possible without the generous sharing of information that’s been happening among the writing community.

      Like

Comments are closed.